Read article
Tigbuy Gear Sheetstig-buy.net
← All products

Wet-Weather Day One: A Moisture-Meter Reading on the $16.42 Polo Ralph Lauren Bear Top

Listing weight reads 0.00 g; our size M hit the scale at 214 g. One wet Portland commute, a neckline stretch-and-recovery check and eight seam counts on SKU 7701995591 — plus the collar question the spec sheet never settles.

Priya Raghunathan Reviews EditorField testing, fit across body types, pack volume verification and wear cycling
Published Nov 06, 2026

Hands-on score 4.0 / 5

Editor score 4.0 / 5

Wet-Weather Day One: A Moisture-Meter Reading on the $16.42 Polo Ralph Lauren Bear Top

Most apparel listings ask you to trust a photograph. This one asks you to trust a spec sheet that contradicts its own product name. We ordered SKU 7701995591 — sold as the Polo Ralph Lauren black polo shirt in casual streetwear style — for $16.42 through the same agent route our readers use, opened the parcel on camera, and put the garment through our material bench rather than a mirror. What follows is the bench record, including the parts the listing does not answer.

What arrived, and what the scale said first

The listing's weight field reads 0.00, which is not a weight — it is an empty column. Our calibrated scale filled it in: 214 g for the size M sample in black, with the bear print on the chest. The mailer, a plain grey poly bag with no brand card or care insert, weighed 38 g, so the garment itself accounts for 214 of the 252 g total. That is a normal figure for a mid-weight cotton jersey short-sleeve top and consistent with the listed 100% cotton composition, though a weight alone cannot prove fibre content.

Sizing runs S through XXL, and the colour list is unusually wide — white, black, brown and blue spread across a dozen print codes, plus two greys. The black sample we received is a flat, dense black rather than a washed or garment-dyed tone, which matters if you are trying to match it to existing wardrobe pieces from a photograph.

The bench numbers

No per-size measurement chart is published. We measured our size M flat, twice, on separate days, with the garment rested flat for an hour before the second pass.

CheckListing claimBench result (size M)
Garment weight0.00 (blank field)214 g
Body length, flat50–65 cm range for the run64.5 cm
Chest, flat, pit to pitNot stated58 cm
Shoulder, seam to seamNot stated52 cm
Sleeve, shoulder seam to hemRegular short sleeve21 cm
Neck opening, unstretchedRound neck19 cm
Stitch density, hemNot stated11 stitches per inch
Stitch density, neck rib joinNot stated9 stitches per inch

The length figure lands near the top of the published 50–65 cm band, which is a range covering the whole run rather than one size. If you are between sizes or ordering a larger one, do not extrapolate from our numbers; ask the seller for a flat-lay chart for the size you intend to buy.

The neckline, and the brand field that reads HL

This is where the listing gets slippery. The title says polo shirt; the specification fields describe a round neck with regular short sleeves. Our sample matches the fields, not the title: a ribbed crew neckline with no placket, no buttons and no collar stand. Anyone expecting a conventional collared polo with a two- or three-button placket will be disappointed by what is in the bag.

The brand field in the catalogue data reads "HL," not Polo Ralph Lauren, while the front carries a printed bear motif in the Ralph Lauren idiom. We can describe what we see — a print, a ribbed neck, a woven main label at the inside back neck — but a label is not a provenance document, and this sheet does not pretend otherwise. Treat the brand name in the title as a style reference until the seller confirms branding in writing.

Neckline stretch and recovery

Knit collars fail by sagging, so we stretched the dry neck rib to 30 cm across, held it for sixty seconds, released it and re-measured after five minutes. It returned to 19.5 cm — half a centimetre of residual stretch, which is acceptable for a single cycle and is the number we will re-check if we retest this garment. The rib is a single-layer jersey rib rather than a folded double rib, so expect it to relax further with repeated pulls over the head.

One wet-weather commute

Our author protocol includes a wet-weather day, and this garment got a proper one: twenty-five minutes of steady Portland rain at roughly 11°C, worn over a cotton undershirt with a light pack strap across the chest. Moisture readings on the front panel went from 6.8% before the walk to 9.1% immediately after, with visible darkening across the shoulders and the pack-strap line. Inside, dried flat at room temperature, the panel returned to 7.0% in 22 minutes and to baseline in 41. No tidemark, no print lift, and no measurable change at the print edges.

That is the practical read on 100% cotton: it takes water quickly and gives it up quickly. It is not a weather garment, and the listing does not claim it is.

Print, seams and the wear points we photographed

We photographed the same three points before and after the week: the print's chest placement, the left side seam at the hem, and the neck rib join. The print sits square to the centre front with about a 1.5 mm registration offset on the bear's lower edge — visible under a daylight lamp at close range, invisible at conversational distance. Under a ten-power loupe the ink sits on the surface of the loops rather than flooding between them, which is normal for a plastisol-style print on jersey and is the reason a print this size feels slightly stiff for the first wear.

No loose threads at the hem or cuffs after seven days of ordinary wear, and no measurable distortion at the side seams. There is no hardware on this garment to grade — no zips, buckles or anchors — so our usual pull tests had nothing to bite on, and the seam counts above carry the durability assessment instead.

What the price buys

At $16.42 against a listed original of $18.71, this sits in plain-cotton-tee territory. For that money you get a plausibly 100% cotton oversize top with a print that survived a wet commute and a week of wear, in a size run that goes to XXL and a colour list that goes well beyond black. You do not get a documented size chart, a confirmed collar, or a brand field that matches the name in the title. Those are the three things to settle with the seller before you pay, and they are the reason this sheet reads the way it does.

What works

  1. Stated 100% cotton with medium softness; 214 g in size M on our scale.
  2. Loose oversize cut across S–XXL, with a wide colour list beyond black.
  3. Print and seams held through seven days and one rain-soaked commute.

Watch-outs

  1. Spec fields describe a round neck, not a collared buttoned polo.
  2. No per-size chest or shoulder figures; length only given as a 50–65 cm run.
  3. Brand field reads HL, so Polo Ralph Lauren branding is unconfirmed.

How we tested

We ordered SKU 7701995591 at $16.42 through the same agent route readers use and logged seven days: carton and garment weights on a calibrated scale, eight seam counts, a neckline stretch-and-recovery cycle, and one wet commute with moisture readings before and after.

Sources and notes

Catalog product page
Product listing verified on 2026-11-06.
Is the fabric actually 100% cotton?
The listing's material fields state cotton 100% with medium softness, and our 214 g size M sample feels consistent with a mid-weight cotton jersey. We did not send it for fibre analysis, so treat the composition as a listing claim, not a bench result.
Why does the title say polo if the neck is round?
The specification fields list a round neck with regular short sleeves, and our sample is a ribbed crew-neck top with no placket or buttons. The word polo in the title appears to describe the style family rather than a collared shirt.
How do I choose a size without a chart?
Body length is published only as a 50–65 cm range for the whole run, and no chest or shoulder figures appear. Ask the seller for flat-lay measurements in your intended size before paying; our size M measured 58 cm pit to pit and 64.5 cm long.
View recommendation ↗Affiliate disclosure
Blog
BlogInsightSources and notes
This information is being prepared.